Personal injury law covers a wide range of cases including snowmobile accidents, car accidents and dog bites. Physician malpractice, slip and fall accidents and playground accidents also are handled under Alaska personal injury law statutes. However, what many people do not know is there is a statute of limitations that determines if a victim may file a suit.
Understanding statutes of limitations
Alaska states that if you are a victim, you have only 24 months to file a claim. However, this limit may have some caveats since the limits specifically state the victim must be aware of the injury before the 24 months comes into play. There are specific examples that would result in the statute of limitation being started immediately for example:
- Death as a result of a car accident - when someone is a victim of a drunk or distracted driver and is killed in an accident.
- Dog bites - visible injuries that require treatment and may result in scars or additional surgery to repair scars.
- Slip and fall - store owner failed to provide signage where liquids were spilled and victim slipped and suffered injuries.
There are also cases where victims may not be aware of the severity of their injuries right away. In many of these cases, the statute of limitations may not begin until the victim becomes aware of the problem. Typically, these problems are the result of various medical malpractice injuries including:
- Failure to diagnose - when a patient sees a doctor for specific ailments that result in long-term illnesses as a result of the doctor's failure to diagnose the ailment.
- Medication problems - when a patient is prescribed a medication that results in birth defects or other medical problems the victim may file suit upon learning of the problem regardless of how much time has passed.
- Surgical errors - in some cases, surgical errors are immediately recognizable. In others however, there may be cases where only after time has passed a patient realizes they are having problems as a result of a surgical procedure.
Because the statute of limitations on personal injury and wrongful death suits is only 24 months, it is important to contact a personal injury attorney if you believe you may have a claim in Alaska. Even if you feel your case is more complicated than a simple personal injury case, the law offices of Power and Brown, LLC can help. We're committed to making sure your rights are protected. Contact Power and Brown LLC today for representation for your personal injury claim before the statute of limitations expires.